News . Print Solutions

12 Dec 2019

AS always, hearty congratulations go to this year’s champions in the FTASA’s Print Excellence Awards. The printers featured in the following pages can hold their heads up high, knowing they count among South Africa’s – and the world’s – top-ranking flexographic printers.


Download Brochure


But, of course, they couldn’t do this without the backing of their suppliers – the continual developments emanating from flexographic press manufacturers, the ever-evolving technology offered by plate manufacturers and ink suppliers, and the utmost care taken by our local repro houses. All these vital links in the chain can take a bow alongside the printers themselves.

Other champions, of course, are the programme sponsors – the companies that make the whole thing possible, allowing the FTASA to pursue its objective of advancing the flexographic printing process. FTASA’s executive secretary, Erich Kühl, particularly appreciates their support. ‘Without these valued sponsors, we wouldn’t be able to run a programme of this magnitude,’ he comments. ‘It’s also gratifying to note that some overseas principals were so pleased with last year’s results that they’ve increased their support – even sending more representatives to this year’s awards function,’ Erich adds.

This year’s sponsors include Beswick Machinery/Bobst, CV Print & Pak/Zecher, Eagle Ink Systems/Flint Group Narrow Web, Flint Group Flexographic Products, Hi-Tech Inks, Marshall Hinds/DuPont, Kaldeck Antalis, Kalideck/Domino, Kalideck/DuPont, PACKAGiNG & Print Media, Polyflex, SArepco (Label & Printing
Systems)/Mark Andy, Sun Chemical, and TAD Printing Products/MacDermid Graphic Solutions.

Yet another group of champions are the judges. Stepping up to the plate again this year were Bill Marshall (judging chairman), Derek Murison (FTASA president), Erich Kühl (FTASA executive secretary), Kevin Naidu (Marshall Hinds) and Ricky Maconi (KB Labels), who spent many hours closely analysing entries.

As Bill Marshall remarks, judges take their responsibilities extremely seriously. ‘Each entry is hotly debated and closely scrutinised; and entries are re-examined throughout the judging process in an arduous process that ensures a gold medal is high praise,’ he explains.

‘Although it’s well established that flexography competes with, and sometimes outperforms, other print processes, the FTASA has an ongoing obligation to demonstrate this through these annual awards,’ Bill adds.

Undoubtedly, this year’s winners have done the industry proud. Printing on a spectrum of substrates, using a variety of formats, the results can only be described as ‘excellent’. Erich Kühl is exceptionally pleased with this year’s results. ‘However, while we see constant improvements from some entrants,’ he observes, ‘the practice of having lesser qualified personnel examine the entries before submission is worrying. I urge all participants to read and apply the rules and guidelines stringently.’

Finally, these Print Excellence Awards don’t stop with the luncheon, the guest speakers and the publication of this brochure. An added bonus is the display of winning entries on the FTASA’s website. In addition this brochure is circulated to all PPM’S readers and the content also appears on the magazine’s website.


Proud Best on Show winners – Garth Hobson (Botselo) , Andy Koo (DBC Wovens), Johan Uys (Silverrocket Creative) , Bruce Pender-Smith (DBC Wovens), Adrian Hobson (Botselo) and Jamie O’Neill (Repro Flex).